Image Archive Home | Favorites | Search | Index | D.K.'s Collection | Video
Alumni Registry | Class Information Pages | Alumni Hall of Fame

Dan Kahler Award Recipients

Dan Kahler Award Recipients

Dan Kahler

Kahler, Dan
Inducted in 2005

Dr. Kahler developed and designed Oak Park High School. He continued to be Principal for 21 years. He was revered by all who worked or taught at Oak Park.

The Dr. Kahler Award was named after him to recognize non-graduates of Oak Park, that distinguished themselves while working for Oak Park by performing outstanding service to the school.
Gary Lint

Lint, Gary
Inducted in 2009

Gary Lint was employed for eleven years at Oak Park, in many areas as an IA. He developed the Cornerstone newsletter, which he wrote, published and distributed to the Oak Park parents. When he found there was no way for alumni to find information on their reunions, he developed the OP Alumni Assn. The Alumni Directory was developed, which now includes over 6000 names and other information.

He created the Oak Park Hall of Fame which will induct its fifth class into the Hall this fall. He produced the Hall of Fame ceremonies for the first 3 years. He initiated the Oak Park Alumni Scholarship program by soliciting donations from the alumni, friends of OP and through fundraisers. Oak Park has been able to award scholarships to offspring of alumni for the past three years. Gary received the Blue Apple Award for outstanding service and was nominated twice for District Employee of the Year from OP.
Ken Kramme, Dr.

Kramme, Dr., Ken
Inducted in 2014

Twenty-one of Dr. Kramme's 44 years were at OPHS. Since retiring in 2001 Kramme has worked part-time for UMKC and Liberty HS. He also serves on the KCMO Environmental Management Commission. Many Oakies remember him for thrilling ski weekends. He also led the Academic Aces to eight state Championships. NKC teachers remember his NEA work. Doc's excellence has been recognized in many venues, most notably at the White House in 1990, whereupon he received the Presidential Award.

Other honors include: Curtin-Matheson Teacher Award, Christa McAuliffe Award, M-NEA Political Action Award, SHARE Outstanding Educator, NKC Teacher of Distinction, OP Big Blue Award, Lou Smith Citation, Clay County Conservation District Award, NKC- NEA Volunteer of the Year, ACS Award, SCI Award, UMC Teacher Award & U of A Mentor Award.
Jerry Crews

Crews, Jerry
Inducted in 2019

Jerry Crews has dedicated over 50 years of mentoring, coaching, and teaching at schools in Denver, Maple Park, and as a charter member at Oak Park High School. He led the football team from the early 70's to mid 80' and was the head track coach at two different times. He was the MO Class 4 Coach of the year in 1975. He was the athletic director from 1985- to the mid 90s and the KCIAAA Athletic Director of the year in 1995. During that time, he was also head golf coach.

He has received the "Dan Kahler True Blue" award and is a member of the GKC Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame. He has coached several all state athletes including a state champion 4x100 team, 800 m, and two-time state champion pole vaulter.

Currently he volunteers at his church and in several activities to help the Northland Community. He helped teach golf to special needs athletes. Jerry has never lost his desire to help kids and has left a lifetime legacy of students, athletes, and coaches that are indebted to him for his support, enthusiasm, knowledge and genuine spirit. He is truly an Oak Park icon.
Bill Grace

Grace, Bill
Inducted in 2019

Bill Grace was an Oak Park Faculty member from 1969-1993. His program blossomed through many contests, trips to the Missouri Music Educators Association Convention, and was widely known as an adjudicator/clinician for many Missouri Camps, contests, and competitions.

He volunteers as a committee member for our Alumni Association. He is still involved at the Liberty Community Chorus and is a frequent judge at District contests every spring. Bill Grace truly bleeds blue and is an integral part of what Oak Park is today.